Organise Ethnopoly

Organising your own Ethnopoly

Originally, Ethnopoly was developed by the association (http://www.verein-katamaran.org) in Zug. With one stop-over in Bern the game finally arrived in Geneva and it now continues spreading and multiplying from the different places.

Since 2013 the association Ethnopoly Suisse is coordinating supporting local organisations, who are carrying out their own Ethnopoly. Ethnopoly is a registered brand name. However, any organisation who would like to organise the game can do it easily and even get support. The only condition is to observe a few points:

Procedure:

  • Who is considering organising Ethnopoly, should first contact Ethnopoly Suisse  (info@ethnopoly.ch)
  • During a first common meeting, the most important questions can be answered and the next steps will be defined
  • The local team and Ethnopoly Suisse will sign an agreement, which defines the quality requirements of Ethnopoly
  • One person of the project team is supposed to become a member of Ethnopoly Suisse for at least 3 years (current membership fee: 30 Francs)
  • When the game is over, both partners discuss the lessons learnt of the project in a common meeting
  • The local team fills out a short report form (for documentation of the project) and shares photos, movies or other docuements that can be useful for other teams

 

Support:

The rules of Ethnopoly are very flexible and can always be adapted to fit the local realities. As a principle, the local team always remains fully responsible for the project. Ethnopoly Suisse is nevertheless happy to give support, for example by counceling about the possible options of the game but also for the practical organisation of the project. At the same time, Ethnopoly Suisse makes available any tools, concepts or other useful documents coming from earlier Ethnopoly editions. It can also connect a project team to representatives of other, similar Ethnopolys.

 

We are happy about every new Ethnopoly, which is born. However, any local team is of course free to decide to organise their project under a different name without any link to Ethnopoly. Specially in german speaking Switzerland, there also is a possibility to work together with  Mondopoly (http://www.mondopoly.ch), which is a very similar project, just with a slightly different definition of “culture”.

Ethnopoly durchführen

Ethnopoly durchführen

Ethnopoly wurde ursprünglich vom Verein Katamaran (http://www.verein-katamaran.org) in Zug entwickelt. Mit einem Zwischenhalt in Bern ist das Spiel danach nach Genf gekommen und hat sich von den verschiedenen Standorten aus weiterverbreitet.

Seit 2013 koordiniert der Verein Ethnopoly Suisse auf Ebene Schweiz die verschiedenen Spiele und unterstützt lokale Organisationen, die ein Ethnopoly durchführen wollen. Ethnopoly ist als Marke geschützt. Organisationen, die das Spiel durchführen wollen, können dies aber problemlos tun und dabei auch Unterstützung erhalten, wenn sie ein paar wenige Punkte beachten.

Vorgehen:

  • Wer sich vorstellen kann, ein Ethnopoly durchzuführen, nimmt als Erstes mit Ethnopoly Suisse Kontakt auf (info@ethnopoly.ch)
  • An einer gemeinsamen Sitzung werden dann die wichtigsten Fragen geklärt und das weitere Vorgehen besprochen
  • Das lokale Team und Ethnopoly Suisse unterschreiben eine Vereinbarung, welches die wichtigsten Qualitätsstandards eines Ethnopoly festhält
  • Eine Person des Projektteams wird für mindestens 3 Jahre Mitglied bei Ethnopoly Suisse (aktueller Mitgliederbeitrag: 30 Franken)
  • Nach der Durchführung findet eine gemeinsame Sitzung statt, an der Bilanz gezogen wird über das Projekt
  • Das lokale Team füllt zwecks Dokumentation ein kurzes Berichtsformular aus und stellt Fotos, Filme oder nützliche Dokumente anderen Teams zur Verfügung

 

Unterstützungsangebote:

Die Regeln von Ethnopoly sind sehr flexibel und können immer den lokalen Gegebenheiten angepasst werden. Grundsätzlich bleibt immer das lokale Team verantwortlich für die Durchführung des Spiels. Ethnopoly Suisse berät aber gerne dabei, welche Variante von Ethnopoly Sinn machen könnte und gibt Tipps zur praktischen Durchführung. Ethnopoly Suisse stellt zudem Werkzeuge, Konzepte oder anderen nützliche Dokumente von früheren Ethnopoly-Durchführungen zur Verfügung oder vermittelt Kontakte zu anderen Projekten.

 

Wir freuen uns über jedes neue Ethnopoly, das entsteht. Grundsätzlich sind lokale Teams aber natürlich frei, ihr Projekt unter anderem Namen ohne Anbindung an Ethnopoly durchzuführen. Insbesondere in der Deutschschweiz gibt es zudem die Möglichkeit, sich dem Konzept von Mondopoly (http://www.mondopoly.ch) anzuschliessen, welches ein unter anderem Namen ein sehr ähnliches Projekt, aber mit einer leicht anderen Kulturdefinition durchführt.